I will love the light for it shows me the way, yet I will endure the darkness for it shows me the stars. — Og Mandino

Joseph Guilherme Raposo, (February 8, 1937 – February 5, 1989) was a Portuguese-American composer, songwriter, pianist, television writer and lyricist, best known for his work on the children’s television series Sesame Street, for which he wrote the theme song, as well as classic songs such as “Bein’ Green” and “C is for Cookie”.

Raposo also wrote music for television shows such as The Electric Company, Shining Time Station and the sitcoms Three’s Company and The Ropers, including their theme songs. In addition to these works, Raposo also composed extensively for the DePatie-Freleng Enterprises such as Halloween Is Grinch Night, Pontoffel Pock, Where Are You? and The Grinch Grinches the Cat in the Hat.

Raposo is best known for the songs he wrote for Sesame Street from its beginning in 1969 through the mid-1970s, and also for a time in the 1980s. He wrote the “Sesame Street Theme” – various versions of which have opened every episode – as well as many of its most popular songs, such as “Bein’ Green”, “C is for Cookie”, “Sing” and “ABC-DEF-GHI”. A version of “Sing” recorded by The Carpenters in 1973 reached #3 on the Billboard top singles chart. Most of the music used in Sesame Street’s film segments was also written – and often sung – by Raposo.