Pratibha Patil

po_Patil-PratibhaPratibha Devisingh Patil (born December 19, 1934) is an Indian politician who served as the 12th President of India from 2007 to 2012; she was the first woman to hold the office.

She was sworn in as president on July 25, 2007, succeeding Abdul Kalam, after defeating her rival Bhairon Singh Shekhawat. She retired from the office in July 2012. She was succeeded as president by Pranab Mukherjee.

Patil is a member of the Indian National Congress (INC) and was nominated for the presidency by the governing United Progressive Alliance and Indian Left.